logoWe Are The Outdoor Writers Association of California

OWAC AUCTION SITE OPEN!  Great items! Membership not required!  Click button to go to auction site.
OWAC is a non-profit association of media professionals who communicate the vast array of outdoor recreational opportunities and related issues
in California and the surrounding western region. 
More Info

Craft Award Winners - 2014

By Meade Fischer -

It’s been a good year for some of our members who won multiple awards at our recent Big Bear conference.

  • John Poimiroo walked away with 5 awards: including first places-- Best Outdoor Medium for his “California Fall Color,” Best Outdoor Newspaper Column for “California Rambling,” Best Outdoor Action Photograph for “Clear Sailing on Clear Lake” and 2nd in the Phil Ford Humor Award.
  • Gary Graham took home 4 awards: including 1st place for Best Outdoor News Article for “California Dreamin’,”
  • Tom Stienstra grabbed 2 1st place awards: Best Outdoor Series for “Storms Bring Forth Prehistoric Treasure” and Best Newspaper Feature Story for “Paddling with the Giants.”
  • Risa Wyatt won 3rd place in Best Newspaper Feature Story.
  • Johnathan Roldan took 2nd in Best Newspaper Feature Story.
  • Rich Holland took first in Best Outdoor Magazine Feature for “The Channel Islands: an Appreciation.
    • Chris Collard took second and Harry Morse took third.
  • Chris Collard also won first place in Best Outdoor Photographic Series for “Humanity in the 3rd World.”
  • Steven Callan got two awards: Best Outdoor Magazine Column for “On Patrol” and Best OWAC Conference-related Work for “America Needs Parks More than Ever.”
  • Robert Stone won again for Best Outdoor Guidebook for Day Hikes Around Big Sur.
  • Osceola Refetoff took Best Outdoor Feature Photograph for “Call of the Wild.”
  • Mike Ritz won Best Outdoor TV Show for “Chef on the Water.”
  • Tom Wilmer won Best Outdoor Video Short for “Pinnacle National Park.”
  • Zach Behrens took Best Outdoor Video Medium for “Saving the Salton Sea.”
  • Peter Schroeder won Best Outdoor Internet Site for “Northwest Snow Sports Guide.”
  • Scott Goodwin won Best Outdoor Internet Article for “PEJ Giants - Avo Catches a GrandTuna.”
    • Gary Graham took 2nd and Monica Prelle, 3rd.
  • Tom Martens won John Reginato Conservation Award for “Mining Threatens the Smith, State's Most Beautiful River” and second in Best OWAC Conference-related Work.
  • Bill Sunderland won the Phil Ford Humor Award for “A Guide to OFFF.”
  • John Henigin took second in the John Reginato Conservation Award.
  • Finally, Chris Langley and Osceola Refetoff won Best Outdoor Internet Site.
  • 33072
  • Last modified on Wednesday, 18 November 2015 21:51
Login to post comments

Article Categories

Latest News

Take an Overland Adventure to These Five Fishing Destinations

Take an Overland Adventure to These Five Fishing Destinations Overland-fishing-jeep The vehicle ...

Local High Schoolers Win Writing Contest

Local High Schoolers Win Writing Contest // May 1, 2020...

CAWW Photo of the Year 2019

California Watchable Wildlife Photograph of the Year Bald Eagle by Randy Robbins...

Californian of the Year Candidates Introduced

Californian of the Year Candidates Introduced...

EIC Winners 2019

Excellence in Craft Award Winners Announced